## No war on Ukraine

March 2022

This appeal was drafted after some informal discussion among anti-war activists, concerned at the small size of the anti-war protests against Russia's invasion of Ukraine. It aims to establish the central principles around which the broadest possible anti-war activity can be built.

"Massive demonstrations against war and in solidarity with the Ukrainian people all over Europe have not so far been matched in the UK, where protests have been small and often divided. We appeal to the entire Labour and trade union movement, pacifists, faith leaders, humanitarians, antiwar activists, those in solidarity with the Ukrainian people and all right-minded internationalists to build the broadest possible movement around three central demands:

- Russian troops out of Ukraine!
- No to war!
- Refugees welcome here!"

## All signatories:

Colin Adams

Fergus Alexander

Graeme Atkinson, Retired NUJ member/anti-fascist

Janice Ayton

Dave Bangs, Landscapes of Freedom

Andy Barrett, Artistic Director, Excavate Theatre Company

Cllr Barrie Margetts, Southampton City Council

Geoff Bell, Author

Gregor Benton, ACR, Celtic League, Undod

Andrew Berry, Islington UNISON Labour Link Officer

Craig Boyle

Susan Bramley

Christopher Bright, TULO, Camberwell & Peckham CLP

Simon Burgess, Chair CSNS branch Unite the union

Caroline Carney, Disability Labour

E Carola, Researcher

Fred Carver

Louise Christian, lawyer

Philip Clayton, self-employed chef

Andrew Coates, Ipswich Labour CLP, UNITE Community.

Terry Conway, Chair, Hackney and Islington unite community

Peter Cooper

Thomas Cope

Paul Crofts, Convenor, Independent Socialists in Wellingborough

Ian Crompton

Andrew Cruickshank

Michael Culver

Geoffrey Curl

John Davies, suspended former Chair, St Michaels, Liverpool Riverside CLP

Ben Davies, Hackney

Leilah Davis

Alex Doherty, journalist

James Doran, Labour Party member

Jon Duveen, District Secretary, Cambridgeshire NEU

Martin Eady

Philip Edwards

Gavin Edwards, Labour member, UCU

Ms Emma Saunders, Leicester West CLP Chair

Martin Eric Rodgers, Labour Party

Mark Findlay

Padraic Finn

Pete Firmin, vice chair, Brent Trades Council

Andrew Fisher, Chair, Croydon Central CLP (personal capacity)

Billy Flynn-McLean

Julie Franklin

Martin Franklin, Islington North CLP

Linda Freston

Jack Gain

John Game

Brian Gibbons, Volunteer

Josephine Grahl

Seán Gray

Bryn Griffiths, Colchester Labour Party member (personal capacity)

Stephen Griffiths, LP Northfield

Ann-Marie Gutteridge

Liz Guy

William Hale

Joseph Hamm

Owen Hatherley, writer and editor

Irene Henson

Wayne Holmes

Catherine Hughes, Hayfield & New Mills BLP

Robin Humphrey, Professor Emeritus, Newcastle University.

Nicholas Hunt

Philip Inglesant

Alena Ivanova

James Jacobs

Juliet Jacques, writer/filmmaker

Ewa Jasiewicz, Union Organiser

Lisa Joanna Morris

Richard Johnston

Dave Kellaway, Hackney North and Stoke Newington CLP delegate

Natalia Kinderewicz

Richard Kuper, Holborn & St Pancras Labour Party

Michelle Landy, Solicitor

Bozena Langley, Unite Union member

Jon Lansman, Labour Party

Paul Leon John Mackney, former General Secretary NATFHE/UCU

Lucy Lepchani, Writer

Fred Leplat, AntiCapitalist Resistance

Soreh Levy

Zbigniew Luczynski, Campaigns Officer Rushcliffe Labour CLP

Joshua M, Student

Tòmas MacAilpein, IWW/UCU

Bill MacKeith, Oxford Trades Council executive, individual capacity

jenny Mahimbo

atilio malatto

Rob Marsden, Red-Green Labour editorial board

Finlay McCallum, Student

John McKean, John McKean

Delia McNally, Retired

Stephen McNally

Liam McQuade, Labour Party, Bethnal Green and Bow

Vaughan Melzer

Rita Mendelson

Dave Mitchelmore

Stefan Mohamed

Jim Monaghan, retired, former member of Peoples Democracy Ireland

Norrette Moore, Uxbridge & South Ruislip

Jacqueline Nangreave

Jonathan Neale, writer

Daniel Nichols, Political Officer, Romford Labour Party

Colin O Driscoll, Social media officer / Labour International Left Alliance

Seamus O'Connell

Tom Ormson, Doctoral candidate, University of Sheffield

Gareth P Fry

Rafal Pankowski, NEVER AGAIN Association

Toni Paramore

Dave Pardoe, Vice Chair, PCS British Council branch (personal capacity)

Ian Parker, psychoanalyst

Sarah Parker, Anticapitalist Resistance supporter

Susan Pashkoff, Women's Officer, Leyton and Wanstead CLP

Simon Pearson, Web Editor/Anti\*Capitalist Resistance

Nick Peck

Dr Peter Purton, retired LGBTQI activist

John Peterds, UCU

Gordon Peters, Unite, Haringey Community branch

Simon Pirani, honorary professor, University of Durham

Theodora Polenta, LGBTQIA+ officer, Rushcliffe CLP

Caroline Powls, Unison

Eileen Powrie

Jon Rainwater, Executive Director, Peace Action

Roland Rance, Unite delegate to Walthamstow CLP

Nicky Reeves, Curator, The Hunterian, University of Glasgow

Peter Reupke

Andy Richards, UNISON and Hove CLP

Laura Rival, University of Oxford

Dr Roger Welch, retired member of UCU University of Portsmouth branch

Beatrix Roudet, Labour

Geoff Ryan, Retired mental health nurse

Reynaldo Salgado, Labour Party member

Paul Scott

Amanda Sebestyen

Lynne Segal, Writer

Malcolm Segall

Dr Sharif Gemie, writer

Veronica Simpson

Matthew Sleigh, B and T World Seeds

Jim Smith, Unison

Gareth Spencer, President, PCS Culture Group

Harry Stannard, General Management Committee, Leicester West CLP

Dave Statham, Labour International CLP

Tsekouras Stelios, Physics teacher

Lachlan Stuart, Member, Labour Party & Unison

Tara Swift

Roger Tanner

Norman Traub, ACR

Ilya Trombitsky, Executive Director / International Association of River Keepers, Moldova

Mike Tucker

Colin Tull, CWU

James Urpeth

Carole Vincent

Hilary Wainwright, Red Pepper / Transnational Institute

Jan Whelan, Labour Party

Martin Wicks, Swindon

Bill Young, International Marxist Humanist Organisation

Daniel Zamojduk

https://nowaronukraine.org/